2012 F-250 noise in the the linkage?

I’m a complete novice on auto repair, so forgive my ignorance. My 2012 F250 has begun making a noise. The noise is coming from somewhere in the linkage (drivetrain). It sounds like new knobby tires on a paved road but not constant more like (rrrr-rrrr-rrrr). The frequency of the noise increases the faster the vehicle moves. It does not make the sound while reving the engine in park and the noise does not change between dirt road of paved road, so I’m pretty sure it’s not the tires or the engine. Could it be something like the tachometer needing lubricant??? Its kind of loud. Thanks for any help.

What engine, transmission?

Does the noise change if you drive at, say, 30 MPH in different gears?

Linkage it is not but a drivetrain noise. I would check the level of the rear end fluid and maybe evan change it out.

This rear end may require a fluid with a friction modifier and you can look that up in the owners manual. If no manual…you can call any Ford dealer and they can tell you. Be sure to go with a quality fluid that matches the factory spec’s. If you cheap out you may still have the noise with the new fluid.

Yosemite

If this sound stays more or less the same in drive vs coasting at the same speed, you’re probably looking at the drive shaft u-joints or splined-joint if you have a two part driveshaft, or one of the differentials. rr rr rrr sounds can be caused by a faulty wheel bearing too.

If my own Ford truck had this problem, I’d lube the driveshaft u joints and splined-connection, and check the differential fluids as the first course. Next would be to check the wheel bearings by jacking the wheel off the ground and spinning it by hand, making sure it spins freely, & listening for weird noises. Then grab hold at 12 and 6 o’clock, both twisting and pulling, checking for excessive play.