2010 Volkswagen Tiguan power steering

Hi everyone,

I have a 2010 Volkswagen Tiguan that’s been having some power steering issues, and there doesn’t seem to be much rhyme or reason to it.

The best I can describe the issue is this: if I’m making multiple stops (turning the engine off) when out running errands, once I start the ignition back up, I may or may not have power steering; the red power steering light will appear on my dash when it decides not to work. It seems completely random when I do and do not have power steering. The only remedy I’ve found is to let my car sit with the ignition off for a few hours before trying again.

My check engine light came on, and I thought maybe that had something to do with it, but after checking the code (P0234 - Engine Overboost Condition), I don’t think the two problems are related.

Any thoughts? Trying to diagnose this problem to see if it’s something I can fix myself before I take it to a mechanic. I’m a complete amateur when it comes to vehicles, so hopefully the problem isn’t too bad.

Your Tiguan has electric assist power steering.

So it could be the motor on the rack& pinion assembly.

There’s also a steering wheel angle sensor.

So it might also be that.

In this case, it’s cheaper to bring it to a mechanic. Shot gunning parts at this problem can get really spendy.

Tester

1 Like

Thanks! So I’ll try and repair the sensor in hopes that’ll fix it

You will need to read the faults in the power steering control module. The last 2 power steering failures that I repaired (non VW) required a $900 control module, I doubt replacing the steering wheel angle sensor will help and you will need a scan tool to perform the calibration.

Don’t do that. You will waste time and money guessing at the solution. Get it properly diagnosed.