2009 cobalt "power" steering issues

So I bought my son’s 2009 cobalt for my youngest daughter to practice driving in. She is getting ready to take her test for her license, and when parallel parking, we have discovered the steering gets like there is no power steering. When you take off, the steering returns to normal. No whining or anything like a pump burning up or going out. And then I learn why, it’s an electric assist motor. So I got under the dash and felt the motor as she turned the wheel. It began to get stiff, but not like when we parallel park/practice. The motor never got warm. I am new to the electric assist, but thought the motor would be warm or make some sort of noise as it was getting stiffer to turn. Is the motor going out or do I have another problem? I know hydraulic, but not these newer electric assists and would hate to spend the money on a new electric motor and the problem be somewhere else. Thank you in advance for any input.

Has the vehicle been to a dealer in the last 11 years? There is a power steering recall that was issued in 2010.

RCRIT-10V073-2761.pdf (nhtsa.gov)

You can check for incomplete recalls for your specific VIN below;

GM Recall Information | Chevy Recall Center | Chevrolet Recalls

5 Likes

I ran my VIN at the recall page you provided and it did not find any recalls.

I suggest you take an appointment with an independant mechanic. There are many mechanical parts that should be checked out

Electric power steering has a motor, an electronic controller and sensors to provide assist. If the controller senses an error, it will throw a check engine light or send and error message to the dash display. A GOOD scanner can read the codes and watch the system as it works.