2009 Cadillac CTS Need Help Valve Spring

Hello all. I am not a Mechanic but I have no choice to fix this myself and with your help as well. I was quoted 2000 to fix this. I really hope you can help me :slight_smile:

Vehicle: 2009 Cadillac CTS 3.6l 77000 miles.

Issue started at a stoplight out of nowhere. Idle going crazy barley alive. Misfire like hell. got it home asap.

Bought a code reader and got P0300 codes (multiple cylinder misfire) Went through normal steps of checking vacuum leaks and found none. Changed all plugs and coils - no fix. problem is deeper.

I now rented a compression tester from autozone.
Cylinder 5 = 128 PSI ------ Cylinder 6 = 0 PSI
Cylinder 3 = 130 PSI ------ Cylinder 4 = 145 PSI
Cylinder 1 = 132 PSI ------ Cylinder 2 = 145 PSI

So no Compression on cylinder 6. :frowning:
I have found a broken valve spring in the back where cylinder 6 is. Before I go further I need professional advice from you guys so I don’t really mess things up. I can rent or buy the tools needed. I did try and loosen the bolts on the cams but they will not budge!!! I can take more Pictures - please help me get back on the road.

this looks like a remove head job to me. what did shop say it would do for 2000?

Get a breaker bar and a 2’ piece of pipe to extend it. Use a good 6-point socket and those bolts will come loose.

@MrMitch; Without seeing what you are using I must agree with @Insightful. I feel somewhat certain that a proper 6 point 1/2 drive socket on a 1/2" drive breaker bar would easily loosen the nuts.

And if you don’t have a good shop manual I suggest you get one and follow the procedures for keeping the chain in time and avoiding dropping something into the timing cover.

Unless I’m mistaken, that appears to be the intake valve and the ports make it easy to hold the valve so it doesn’t drop into the cylinder when you release it.

those are E torx bolts? cant tell from shadows. use E torx sockets if you are required.