2008 audi a6 needs oil every 400 miles

my new 2008 audi a6 is showing low oil every 400 miles. I mostly use it for city driving. The dealership says this is normal, can anyone help id the problem. There are no oil spots underneath my car, so I don’t see any leaks.

Thanks

The dealer is lying . One quart per thousand miles is what is considered borderline .
The problem is the dealer ! Get in touch with Audi USA !

If I plunked down $40 Grand for a brand new car, and it was burning a quart of oil in four hundred miles, nothing short of a new car would make me happy. I would consider the engine a DOA.

Agreed. If you’ve been driving it and the oil light came on, and you ignored it (even “just til you got home”, I’d want a new engine. A new car shouldn’t be burning that much oil.

Make it unanamous. 1 qt every 400 miles in a new car is a sign of a serious problem.

Make him show you anything that says that’s normal usage. He won’t be able to.

I have no personal experience with this, but many threads here over the past years have said that one quart per thousand miles seems to be the standard for maximum “normal” usage according to many manufacturers. I’d definitely push this one.

It’s not normal. It’s time to raise the roof on this one.
If you bought the car as a dealer demo (say a 100 miles on it, etc.) then it’s possible that someone was thrashing it during the break-in period.
A brand new car should not have more than 5 or 10 miles on it.

This is a candidate for the lemon law. How many times have you been to the dealer? Do you have a receipt for each visit? If so, you’re on your way. I’m not suggesting that you should aim at a new car. But you should be positioned to take advantage of it if the dealer prooves useless. Check your state laws to see what the requirements are. YOu can do an iternet search for ‘lemon law’ and your state to find out the requirements.

400 or 4000? I can’t believe any dealer would claim a quart every 400 miles is normal.