2007 Mercury Mountaineer misfires

Anyone else having misfire issues, I get getting check engine lights and when I scan the vehicle I get misfires code errors on multiple cylinders, changed the spark plugs and coil packs still getting the error code and check engine light

Given that you’ve replaced plugs and coils, the problem is unlikely to be in either. There could be a bad crankshaft position sensor or it could be fuel related as in leaking injectors or a vacuum leak. However, I’m not a mechanic so those are mostly guesses.

Does this engine need valve lash adjustment? How well has the oil change regime been followed?

i know this is a different car, but i had a windstar with the same problem. it turned out being… on the side of the throttle body there are 2 linkages with plastic bushings on them that broke causing the linkage to pop out. the linkages go to the intake manifold runner control valves. [ butterflies]. I replaced the plastic bushings and no more misfire codes.

I have it tested for vacuum leaks and compression and both turned out to be fine.

I change my oil around every 5000 miles or whenever the oil indicator comes on. dont know what a valve lash adjustment is but i’ll google it. Thanks.

Thanks for following up. But you haven’t ruled out bad injectors or crankshaft position sensor. Did the shop that tested for compression and vacuum leaks suggest anything? Best of luck finding the solution.

Interesting that you have never told us what engine you have, nor how many miles are on it. You have also never posted the codes you read.

Plus you took it to someone who could do a compression test and a vacuum test and did not post the results. Why didn’t this person also try and diagnose the misfire?

Finally, how are we supposed to help you with this problem misfire without any actual data? By consulting our crystal balls?