2006 Nissan Altima - Thrown rod?

My Nissan Altima list pressure while I was driving it so I immediately pulled over to the side and called a tow truck to tow my car to a safe place now my car will still crank but makes a little knocking noise, have I thrown a rod?

Does the RRRrrRrrrRRRrrRRRrrr cranking sound uneven?

No, but you need new bearings. Though many people will say it’s not a long-term fix, I would let down the oil pan, clean up the crankshaft journals with 1000-grit abrasive cloth, and change the rod bearings from below. If it wasn’t knocking for too long, you might get away with this type of repair.

Maybe, I can’t hear it from here.

First I can’t see how you can hear a knocking just while cranking and not starting. Second, you lost pressure and have not figured out why yet and corrected the problem. Low or no oil,etc. so if you still have a pressure problem, the bearings are still starved for oil. I’m not a mechanic so don’t know if the knocking would go away if the oil pressure is restored. Usually knocking happens first and then the rod shatters and blows a hole in the block. So maybe that’s why you have no oil pressure.

Check oil level.

If you THREW a rod, there would be a new hole in the oil pan or engine block. That could make a knocking noise as you crank it.

If you damaged a rod bearing…called a spun rod bearing, you would hear a knocking noise at idle.

Either way, you need an expensive difficult repair

1 Like

People do stuff like this with Geo Metros quite frequently and results are mixed. Sometimes it will go 100,000 miles and sometimes not. If the car is nearing the end of its life, a quick and dirty fix might be OK to keep it going until the end. If in good shape, maybe put some money into it and do it right. Used cars are stupid expensive right now so repairing something like this might not have made sense a few years ago but does now.