2006 Impala 3.9L Belt Squeal

3.9L V6 Chevrolet Impala driver here. The vehicle has about 83000 miles on it. I’ve been driving it since 2006 and was purchased used. The belt is starting squeal. Which isn’t that big of a deal since all belts do need to be replaced. However, the squeal only occurs when the temperature is hot outside or has been driven for a while. If I go on a long drive the belt won’t squeal until I get to more stop and go traffic. I have sprayed pulley’s while the belt is squealing and it is the power steering pulley. However, I am not sure if to replace the power steering pump or just replace the pulley. Sounds like a bad bearing in my opinion.

4/1/2013 I replaced my belt with the recommended Gates belt. Upon inspection of the pulleys I had one that looked questionable. Here is an image of the pulley that was pulled imgur.com/a/vU8DG#0. This is the lower Idler pulley. emissionguy.hubpages.com/hub/Serpentine-belt-routing-diagram-2006-Chevrolet-Impala-LTZ-39

I just noticed today of 4/1/2013 that there is a slight squeal coming from the engine bay. I notice it more when accelerating then if I am just idling. This sounds like it may be the lower idler pulley.

If you do replace the pump, make sure the replacement comes with a pulley already installed.

Otherwise, you’ll need to remove and transfer it to the new pump with a tool.

I’m a little confused. A little noise from the power steering pump is normal-kind of a knocking sound. If its a bearing, it would be more of a grating sound. Those pumps usually go several hundred thousand miles. If you have a belt squeal though, that would either be a worn belt, a weak tensioner, or possibly the pulley is worn or filled with belt debris. Before changing the pump, I think I’d change the belt and make sure the pulleys were clean. If you had a stretched or worn belt, it could make noise at the power steering pulley since that requires a little more effort to turn.