2006 Honda Civic Hybrid - tires causing breakdown?

A year ago I got the tires replaced on my 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid. A couple of days ago I was driving on the highway and the car stopped accelerating all of the sudden.

I could push the gas and hear the electric motor trying, but the car just lost speed until it drifted to a stop.

The dealership is telling me that it’s because of my new tires - that they have a different rolling diameter as the original tires and it’s confusing the system.

My question is if it’s really probable that this would cause the problem that I had? Particularly because I’ve already put about 10k miles on these new tires without a problem.

Thanks! any help much appreciated.

Meghan

Were all four tires replaced? Were the new tires the same size as the original tires (195/65R15)? Is the car still under warranty?

I’m not an expert on hybrids, but the dealer’s story sounds a little fishy.

Ed B.

It was all four tires. They said that the computer would get confused at the different rolling diameter, it just seems fishy that it would happen a year later and cause such a big problem.

So, no, they weren’t the same as the originals, but they are on the list as ‘acceptable’ replacements for that car.

What was the original size and what was the new size?

Who’s list?

I don’t know off the top of my head, but there are only two types of tires that are approved for this car. What’s confusing is that it should happen a year later and catastrophically.

“approved” by whom?

Honda

What failed? According to the dealer what needs to be repaired or replaced, engine, transmission, electric motor, etc?

Ed B.