2005 Ford Mustang research

I’m a defense attorney. Client’s 2005 Mustang GT died when he hit a bump. Need to show lack of reckless driving by finding a magazine or other authority to corroborate client’s assertion that the fuel cutoff safety switches are hyper sensitive on these cars.

You are a defense attorney and you are asking for help on a forum of anonymous people , really ?

2 Likes

As a current owner of an 2013 S197 Mustang and former owner of a 2007 S197 Mustang (and a retired automotive engineer and amateur race driver) I can state without reservation that I have had NO occurrences of the inertia switch triggering on any type of rough road or even rough use on a race track with these cars. I have never had the switch trigger at any time. Neither car has ever been hit while I owned them.

1 Like

You sent me to Google , I now know a trivia answer that I did not know . Not only that I found an interesting article explaining the terms ( such as Fox body ) , Thanks.

1 Like

Why is there a lawyer involved?

What’s the whole story?

What happened after the car stalled?

I have the ‘06, potholes and a few bad RR crossings, 100K+ miles, never a problem.
What I would like to know is why your client is willing to pay you for a nonissue?

This happened to the brother of one of my friends with his -14 Mustang. Hit a speed bump, car died instantly because of the fuel cut of switch. The owner complained to Ford, but they’d have none of it. MAYBE that was because a surveillance camera showed that the car left the speed bump with 5 (five) feet of air UNDER the car (long story).
And I’m not even joking.

Actually, he did have some other issues with that poor thing afterwards.

I suppose that You’ll say, that he was not driving reckless either, I just wonder how many feet or air was under Your clients car. Might be good to know, as to certain how high you can go with a Mustang.