2003 VW Passat with 100,000 miles should I buy?

My ever faithful 1988 Volvo is in ICU…please take a moment.
I’m not a mechanic or have a mechanic in the family, so its time to move on.
I have the chance to own a 2003 VW Passat with 100,000 miles for $4,000 in LA that’s a good deal.

Am I walking into a waking nightmare?

What should I be looking for to go wrong with this car?

Thanks for looking and for your advice! You all rock!

A very poor bet, reliability-wise. Older VWs (and Audis and most other European cars) will have more problems, and more expensive problems, than other cars.

If you’re used to the high cost of keeping an old Volvo running, you should be ok with paying VW’s higher costs as well.

Out of the frying pan, into the fire.

The Passat, especially in station wagon form, is a very attractive car. Don’t let its beauty fool you.

This is not a good move.

What should you be looking to go wrong with an '03 Passat? Everything, especially at 100k miles.

First of all, it needs a timing belt NOW. Not tomorrow, today. $600-$750, or more. You didn’t tell us which engine this “good deal” has, but it doesn’t matter. It needs a new timing belt before you buy it, or right after you buy it, but before you drive it.

If the timing belt breaks the engine will suffer very expensive internal damage. I’ll bet that’s why the original owner traded this gem when he or she did. They didn’t want to pay for the timing belt service.

Neither do you.

The potential problems with an '03 Passat are to many to list. Don’t walk, RUN away from this car.

Find something else. There are other, better, options.

Check in Consumer’s Reports Car Issue. Go with what they say. Some VW’s get good reliable ratings, others, not so good. If CR says this year and model has been unreliable, stay away from it. Otherwise, take a chance.