2002 Saturn L200 Automatic Shifter Problems

Please bear with me. Im not experienced with cars so if im confusing you im terribly sorry. Anyway, I can turn the car on fine. I can push the brake and move the shifter fine. But no matter what gear im in park, reverse, neutral, drive, 3, 2, 1 the car still rolls. Also the indicator lights to the left of the shifter are messed up too. When im in park position, the indicator lights shows im in reverse. When in reverse it says neutral etc. I really have no idea what the problem is. If i could move the shifter fine why wont it change gears? and how can i fix the indicator lights? Thanks everyone for your help. I really appreciate it.

The problem might be with the transmission range switch.

This switch informs the computer what gear the transmission is in and operates the solenoids inside the transmission.

The switch is located below the linkage where the transmission shift cable is attached.

http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/moreinfo.php?pk=44147&cc=1431616

Tester

Sounds like the shifter linkage is messed up. This should be extremely affordable to get fixed by a shop that does trannys.

@Tester‌ thanks for the info. Is this something i could do myself? and should i replace the solenoid valve also?

@Tester‌ oh and do you know of anything else that could cause this?

@"the same mountainbike"‌ would i have to replace the shifter linkage bushing or both the bushing and the cable. And could i do this myself?

Maybe. It’s impossible to tell without pulling the console and looking.

If you want to do this yourself, allow me to suggest that you stop by a Chevy dealer’s parts department and request an “exploded view drawing” of both the console installation and the shifter installation.