2002 Honda Accord DX transmission

I’ve got 113K miles on my 02 Accord and have meticulousy followed the maintanence guidlines. Outside of poor MPG during the 1st few years of ownership the car has been trouble free. Recently I’ve noticed a hesitation when I try to accelerate in both D and R. It does not happen often or regularly - maybe once a day, is not more evident when the engine is hot, or if I’m just starting out for the day. It feels like the car has to take a breath before it can act on acceleration then it surges a bit when acceleration begins. It also feels like maybe I’ve come down too hard on the accelerator and it needs a minute to catch up. I took it in for an oil change yesterday, at the dealer; and asked the mechanic to check it out. He drove it for 5 miles and said it only happened once and when the engine had heated. The diagnosis is the transmission is showing early signs of failure and I would eventually need a “remanufactured” transmission at an approximate cost of $3800. I’m skeptical at the diagnosis. The gears aren’t slipping, the fluid is pink, clean , and full. Thier recommendation was that I could still get 1 - 2 years of life out of the car, which is disappointing because I was looking for another 113K miles; but to bring it back in when it gets worse. Upon advise from my dad I bought a fuel injection cleaner/lubricant from the auto store down the road hoping there might just be some dirt in there that needs to work itself out. Is there anything else besides the transmission that could be causing this hesistation?