2001 Monte Carlo is revving in idle, chugging along, making me sad

Hello,
I have a 2001 Monte Carlo that I absolutely love. The check engine light has been on forever, despite repairs that should have turned that light off. Just recently, my car has started to gain RMP while I’m stopped or going anywhere between 0-25 miles per hour. This also makes the car physically shake and jolt. Very unfortunate. I turn it on to drive once more and then my check engine light flashed and beeped at me. I thought about waiting to take it in until Monday, but now I think it is best to bring it in now.

Thoughts of what it could be? I am a preschool teacher, so fixes above ten bucks will make me sad, but I’d rather pay some money now than a fortune later.

Until someone checks for stored trouble codes, it would be impossible to guess the exact source of the problem. Since the CEL has “been on forever”, don’t be surprised if there are multiple trouble codes that will require multiple fixes.

While I don’t want to give you false hope, I will give you one possibility that is a very low-cost repair option. A disconnected or leaking vacuum hose can lead to fluctuations in RPMs, and can cause an engine to shake and jolt. If that is the problem, fixing it should cost less than $10–if the mechanic spots the exact problem quickly.

However, you could have a problem with the Mass Airflow Sensor (MAF).
Cleaning the MAF is cheap, replacing it will run into a bit of money–perhaps $150-200 for parts & labor, depending on your locale and your mechanic.

Or…Quien sabe?

All of that being said, when a CEL flashes/blinks, rather than being steadily illuminated, this means that the engine needs immediate attention, as there is a misfire taking place in the engine and continuing to drive it in that state WILL lead to expensive engine damage–so I am very glad that you are taking immediate action.