2001 Explorer XLT, possible issues, need advice

Heyo. I’ve got an '01 Explorer that has been serving me for a good few years now. It’s never had trouble starting up or keeping temp. No leaks, regular oil change, no transmission problems (excepting a bit of creak occasionally).

About a week ago, I was driving home, about 2.8 miles away, when I stopped at a light and the thing shut off. No sputter, no choke, just a peaceful power down. Electrics still ran, no strange feelings or noises. Started up just fine right after, but when put in gear it shut down again.

Long story short, took it to a garage. Explained everything, and of course, after finding nothing glaring, they labeled it a tranny problem, claiming that it was reaching temperature and then getting stuck in 4th gear. He quoted me $15-2300 in repairs. Now I’m no mechanic, but I know full well this isn’t a transmission issue. I put some gas in it and kept on driving, and there seems to be no issue at all now.

What I and a few others believe is that, since for a long while I was only putting in $5-10 of gas into it, maybe the fuel pump or a related part was just getting funky. I put 30 bucks of gas in, and besides the already clunky nature of the vehicle, it runs just fine.

My question is: Would there be anything else that caused this issue? For a while I thought my gas gauge had been a little funky, and I was running slightly low, but the tank was not empty. No work was done to the car in the shop, just a diagnostic. Advice?

2001 Ford Explorer XLT, 210k. No previous issues.

Well, keep the tank over half full and see how it goes.

The stalling might have been caused by a funky Idle Air Control valve.

https://www.rockauto.com/catalog/moreinfo.php?pk=1006261&cc=1372429&jnid=513&jpid=2

The IAC valve controls the engine idle speed whenever the accelerator is released.