2001 Alfa Romeo 146 1.9 JTD77kW to 2006 Fiesta 1.4TDCi Turbo swap?

Before I start - yes, I understand that this question is probably stupid, but I have very little knowledge on turbochargers, so I don’t know.

Quite recently, I have managed to run out of luck with my 1000€ Alfa and took a bite out of 80kg wild boar. Alfa put up a good fight, but the boar was heavy, I was going 90km/h and my Alfa 146 was made of butterfly wings. The front was not only crushed, but also moved sideways entirely, rendering a repair to be a no brainer.

As a replacement, I got 1000€ Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCi. A car that I have learned to love instantly, as while it’s tiny, it’s very convenient and definitely shows what five years means in automotive world. There is only one problem with it, and that is it’s hilarious lack of power. 50kW really isn’t much.

That have brought me an idea. My alfa has a turbo designed for 1.9 liter engine, so in my mind it should provide larger boost than a super tiny turbo (Smaller than my fist) in my Fiesta. As tools and tooling aren’t really a problem to me, I have come up with an idea to use what I have available.

So… How idiotic of an idea is it to put a turbo from Alfa Romeo + some intercooler (because the original is very dead) in to a Fiesta?
Will it increase power? Will the engine explode? Will it do anything? Is it waste of time?

The internet so far haven’t been very helpful with my question, and I really don’t want to wreck that tiny engine. As while it’s weak, it also hasn’t gone that far yet (just some 133000km). The reason why I’m looking for this option is because I have free turbo available, but only for a limited time, before I scrap the Alfa. If it will increase the power with no severe risk to the engine, I see it as worth the time on a lathe, preparing the intermediate pieces.

So what do you think? Any expert on turbos around here?