2000~ Chevy Malibu Starting Trouble

Hello, this is Philip, and I’ve got a Chevy Malibu with roughly 120K miles on it. It runs relatively well - when it starts - which is why I’m here, obviously. The battery is brand new with all the connections seeming to be great, so I doubt it’s an electrical issue in that regard. Furthermore, in cases where the car doesn’t start, almost always it’s on an incline where the gas tank is lower than the rest of the vehicle. When it’s either level or higher than the rest, it seems to start up fine, which has led me to wonder if it’s something to do with the fuel intake (note that the car doesn’t stall at all - it simply won’t start in the adverse conditions I said here). So what do you all make of this? I’m no car mechanic, so your guess is as good as mine, and any help you may have would be great.

Thanks!

You have to describe “doesn’t start” - in full detail. “I turn the key and…” Also it must end up starting eventually, so say whatever you can about that.

When I turn the key, I get the rattling sort of noise, as if the engine is about to turn over but never quite gets there. When the car does start, it’s typically on the first try with no issues or odd sounds at all. My apologies - I’m new to the whole car mechanics thing, but if you need to know a specific thing, I’ll try my best to describe it for ya.

When you say “rattling sort of noise”, do you mean like a rapid clicking, or does it sound like it always does when you go to start it, but the engine never actually starts (this would be described as “crank but no start”, and “crank” and “turn over” are interchangeable, although many people outside the mechanic community seem to think they are different).

By rattling do you just mean it makes a bunch of fast clicks - or do you mean it actually revs over making that RR…RR…RR…RR…RR kind of sound?