1999 Hyundai Accent worth fixing the sloppy clutch?

Is it worth it to repair my “sloppy clutch” transmission issues, or should i look for a different used car? I’m completely broke, but if I have to pull a couple thousand together, I’ll do it somehow. I need a car.

First thing you should do is get an estimate for the repair. If that is all this vehicle needs now why buy something else that might need repair. Is it worth it , without seeing and driving your vehicle no one can answer that.

Thank you, VOLVO_V70,

Yes, that is wise advice. I’ve begun researching what it might cost me, but I am no mechanic, so a good mechanic’s estimate (one who is HONEST and realizes I’m poor,) will be what i have to rely on. Whether it will take a good used transmission from somewhere, or only replacement of a few main parts like clutch disc, or what-have-you, I get the feeling I’m still going to be looking at $1K and up. So, this otherwise wonderful Hyundai I’ve loved so much over the years, will still likely be a better bet to repair, than to go in search of an unknown used car.

What does “sloppy clutch” mean? Have you checked the fluid level in the clutch master cylinder ?

1 Like

“Sloppy clutch” is a term I picked up from an article here on cartalk. >>

No, I haven’t checked the fluid level there. I will. Thank you.

Yes, we need to know what the problem is first, so if it’s not an emergency take your time and diagnose it correctly before spending money on repairs.

Usually the end of a clutch’s life results in slipping. If it’s doing that, then it’s time to replace it, which you should be able to get done for under $1K. I would guess $700, but don’t know your car.

Only do it if you still like the car and it is otherwise holding together well. Otherwise find a newer car you like and spend your money there.

1 Like

Thank you, Hirnbeiss,