1997 Mustang GT 4.6 To 5.3 Chevy Vortec

Hello,

I wanted to switch out my 4.6 & T45 Ford to a 5.3 & T56 Chevy Engine & Trans.

My local yard has the engine for $600 w/ 94k miles on it.

I know il need to purchase the kit for the engine mounts, purchase aftermarket gauges and clutch kit for the T56.

My only concern mainly is the air conditioning… I live in texas so this is desperately needed! How would i go about hooking this up?? Could i use the 4.6 lines and buy some sort of conversion kit for the chevys AC compressor?

My mechanics skills are decent, i’m still learning some as i go along…

What else would i need to do apart from the mounts aswell??

Any issues i could possibly run into along the way?

I believe someone said something about the Kmember

Any help is greatly appreciated!!

the exhaust might have to be changed. also drive shaft length might be different. ecu. i think mustangman would probably answer this the best

Look at the emission sticker under the hood.

It reflects the engine and emissions system that was installed by the manufacturer.

Modifying a vehicle that doesn’t meet the those specifications is called emissions tampering…

This can result in steep fines not only to the owner of the vehicle, but also to the shop that performed those modifications if caught.

Just sayin’

Tester

Yeah i plan on grabbing an Harness & ECU from a chevy aswell… I know the driveshaft would probably be a problem, someone was saying a v6 driftshaft might fit with that engine.

I don’t have any cats on my car currently, inspection has never been in issue, i live in Texas but everytime i’ve been to get an inspection i’ve never had an emissions test performed.

That’s because Texas only has safety inspections.

Tester

This is not going to be as simple or cheap as you may think. Fords and Chevys, in terms of electronics, are like speaking English and Spanish.