1991 Sonoma - bad (new) fuel pump or relay?

This is my first post to the Car Talk Community. I am an irrigation tech in the Silicon Valley. I drive a 1991 GMC Sonoma pickup with a utility box bed for work… basically it’s a rolling tool box, with 262 K miles on it.

I had the fuel pump replaced last week after it died.

My mechanic told me that he tested the circuit, and that there was power out to the fuel pump, but the fuel pump did not work. He also tried spraying something (into the throttle body I guess) and it started right up. So he replaced it.

I piked up the truck yesterday, and it ran fine. Then did a repair job this AM, and it quit on my way home. Fortunately, traffic was light and I coasted to a stop on the shoulder, only a couple of blocks from home.

The symptoms are the same as before the repair work:
I can hear what i think is the fuel pump relay (on the firewall, driver side) click a second after I turn the key. But I don’t hear the whir or whine that the fuel pump normally makes at the same time.

Could it be that the relay contacts are worn? Or, with less than 20 miles on it, could the new fuel pump have gone bad?

The 10A “ECM B” fuse that supposedly leads to the relay on the firewall seems to be OK. The other 10A “ECM 1” fuse next to it is a little loose in its holder/ socket, as is the 3A fuse labeled “CRANK”… but the starter and engine turn over just fine, it just seems to be starved for gas, and the fuel pump is not working.

*picked * up the truck yesterday, not piked up…

Thanks!

@‌irrig8r

Do you happen to know if your fuel tank was full of crud?

Did the new fuel pump come with a sock?

Did the mechanic also replace the fuel filter?

If you want to check that theory of the relay, unplug it and bridge 30 and 87 on the fuse box. If the pump is running, you might just have a bad relay