1988 Plymouth Voyager torque converter lockup failure

That torque converter lockup has stopped locking up. Tranny all works well otherwise. Is there anything Inexpensive
l can do to try to fix it? Is there any problem just driving it (seldom goes over 60 MPH @ 3000 RPM). I’m a mechanic by trade, but don’t know anything about this. Shifts up and down thru 3rd gear just fine.

I had the torque converter lockup solenoid go bad on an old Pontiac. It’s possible you have a similar problem but in my case the shop had to drop the transmission. You might be luckier. A good repair manual ought to show the location of the part.

I don’t know the car but if the the converter lock up is electronic look for the easy stuff - there may be a relay, loose or broken wire or connector, etc. A DVM (volt-ohm meter) might tell you a lot. If the ATF is too old something might be stuck - but whether or not to change old fluid will open up a slew of opinions.

Could be a bad speed sensor According to at least one post from someone who had the same problem fairly recently with his. The one i’ve found on Ebay is specifically for the grand voyager.

And the post on a chrysler minivan forum. Cant’ remember if our '88 Grand Voyager had this problem but it wouldn’t suprise me. We sold ours finally in 2014 and it still ran and drove, at least to the end of our private road and back.

allpar.com is my go-to place for help with my Chry Co minivans.

TC lockup is most often controlled by the computer based on speed… So the suggestions of checking the speed sensor are valid… With a handheld OBD code reader in “view data” mode will reveal what speed the vehicle thinks its going… You need to know that value… Is the speedo correct?

In 88’ there may also be a switch on the trans shift linkage to tell the computer if you selected D or 3…if that is going out to lunch…then it may just be obeying orders from that switch…so it needs to report proper gear selected…etc.