1987 Mercury Marquis Flooding Out ( sometimes)

I’ve been working on my own vehicles for over 30 years and always do my own repairs.

I have an 89 Mustang GT, 59 T-bird and 74 Nova.

My friend has an 87 Marquis with the 5.0

( 105K )and here is the problem.

You shut the car off after its hot and get a no start condition.

He called me today and I went out to help him. I checked for spark with an extra spark plug and had a good strong blue spark.

I shot some starting fluid into the throttle body which had no effect, not even an attempt to start.

Held the gas pedal to the floor to shut off the injectors and after about 10-15 seconds of cranking she started to fire and sounded like it was running on 3 or 4 cylinders for about 15 seconds until the other cylinders cleared out with black smoke out the exhaust.

After that it ran smooth to my home and we shut it off for 30 seconds and the same thing, no start unless you kept it at WOT.

We repeated this process about 4 times, waiting anywhere from 30 seconds to 5 minutes.

I first thought a bad fuel pressure regulator so pulled the vac line off and nothing ( no fuel leaking )

I have worked on this car, putting in a new fuel pump and filter, leaky PS Pump, spark plugs ( tune up etc ).

The fuel pump does run going into the start position.

I have checked the EGR, cleaned the IAC and throttle body way before this problem started.

After a few repeats of this problem today in my drive way we now can’t get the car to

act up. Runs smooth as silk and restarts normally.

It does not do it every time and I’m here now scratching my head as it also happened about a week ago.

It has the same symptoms as a carbureted engine would do if severely flooded.

Any suggestions ?

Well, it would probably be a PITA but what I would be thinking about next is pulling the fuel rail and checking for injector leak down.

What type of injection? TBI or multi-port?

Caddyman,