1966 vespa - 2 stroke engine - revving at stops

I have been riding my new (old) scooter for several months now. sometimes when i come to a stop and push in clutch & brake my engine does not slow down. My hand is not on the gas. The engine is revving super fast and there is nothing i can do to slow it to its regular idling speed. It usually will fix itself after light turns green and i take off once more. But this can’t be good for it.

Lots of possibilities:

1. Throttle cable is sticking
  2. return spring at carb is broken
  3. dirt stuck around carb, jamming connections
  4. Vacuum leak somewhere
  5. Cold start circuit stuck

If you are going to ride a scooter this old, you have to learn to fix it yourself, because you will go broke paying someone. There are lots of spots on the Web with help for you. Google your model Vespa and the word “forum”.

thanks! I will look into. I am planning on learning how to fix and maintain my scooter, maybe this will be my first challenge.

When the throttle is closed on a 2 stroke engine it doesn’t immediately drop to idle. It will usually blat and pop and sputter down to idle speed but it requires several seconds. Does the revving you speak of last more than 5 seconds? Is the idle speed high enough to release the clutch and pull away from a stand still? If so, how fast?

definitely more than five seconds, long enough to go through an entire red light sometimes, 30 secs- 1 minute maybe? and it is consistently high, no sputtering.

haven’t tried pulling away from a stand still yet, usually have cars in front of me. and when light turns green i usually go thru the motions and add gas as i pull away. but will try next time to pull away without adding any and see what happens.

Air leak around intake is where I would look.