1966 Pontiac-brakes and steering

I’m writing a novel and need to kill somebody off. Here’s the set-up: He’s driving a Hertz rental, 1966 Pontiac. He accelerates to get up a hill, knows the deadly curve is at the bottom of the hill, and slows down on the descent so he won’t be going too fast around the curve. I thought his brake line was cut, but a witness claims he wasn’t speeding–he just went over the ravine. So now I’m thinking steering. The car was sabotaged about an hour before the accident. What did the bad guy do to my character’s car? (Simple terms, please! I’m a writer, not a mechanic, Jim.)

The killer removed the nuts from the idler arm bolts. The bolts eventually came out, resulting in a loss of steering.

Or:
The killer poked a hole in the power steering high pressure line. The fluid leaked out. The victim, used to the one-finger ease of turning the wheel when the power steering was working, was unprepared when the power steering was no longer working, and was unable to compensate ro prevent driving over the edge.

That’s it! Exactly what I needed! Thanks, NYBo-- you’re a life saver. Just not for my character. :wink:

Cut brake lines (or partially cut rubber brake HOSES) should work very well as a criminal action to dispatch someone. Its a classic. Take a slice through the hose to greatly weaken it, your driver sees the curve and tries to slow the car and “pop” the hose fails and bye-bye driver.

In 1966, there was only a single brake system so, leak = no brakes. 1967 and on, dual systems became the norm so only half the brakes would be lost.

And “not speeding” doesn’t mean he could negotiate the curve. You often see yellow speed advisory signs preceding a curve that are not limits, just suggested speed for the curve. Travelling downhill builds speed quickly so your witness wouldn’t be a good judge, especially at the moment when the curve exceeds the traction of the tires.