Your mileage may vary

I have a brand new Toyota Avalon Hybrid. I am an average driver, and I am getting 32 mpg in town and 36 hwy. I wonder whether this is likely to change as the engine gets broken in–and by how much? Also, should I expect oil consumption during break-in?

I forgot to say–the “official” numbers are both about 40.

Like in a weight loss clinic, your results “may vary”. A lot depends on the driving environment; you’ll save more in traffic than in cross country cruising.

You should not expect oil consumption during break-in

While I’m not 100% certain, I believe the engine was broken in before the car was ever shipped to the dealer

It took me a little while to get the rhythm down with my hybrid MKZ (same basic size as yours). I now average about 37.5 mpg in town, 36 on the freeway. Pay lots of attention to smooth throttle use and maximizing the regen braking (anticipate, and brake lightly).

It’s not the car that needs to break in, it’s the driver!

Fueleconomy.gov

Go to the above URL and check out actual mileage for the Avalon hybrid. In 2014, the averages for 6 drivers were 29.3 to 47.2. The mileage you see now is not at all out of the ordinary.

Whenever someone says “I’m an average [anything],” it reminds me of The News from Lake Wobegon, where all the women are strong, all the men are good looking, and all the children above average. Everyone thinks their above average, below average, or average, but few actually know.

Also, I wonder how many of those self reported numbers on fueleconomy.com are valid.

No, none of us knows anything.

“I wonder how many of those self reported numbers on fueleconomy.com are valid.”

In conversation, and in blogs, it seems that the two things most often lied about are travel time and fuel economy. And, that is nothing new.

When I was a kid, a friend of my parents got a new job about 30 miles south of where we lived.