Xkcd issues a driving safety PSA

Yeah I have to agree. My insurance agent warns against waving people on or even pedestrians. It’s dangerous and transfers liability. Just follow the rules and don’t try to be the nice guy. Kills me at a four way stop, someone franticly waving me on when it’s their turn. Either they are afraid or are trying to take control.

I also have to agree. Back in 1967, I was a social work intern for the state’s child protective agency. My assignment one day was to pick-up one of our abused kids who had been getting psych therapy at the county’s mental hospital.

He and I were in the process of leaving that facility, and the view of oncoming traffic on the adjoining road was extremely restricted. A 20-ish guy was standing adjacent to the exit, and he waved me on, saying… it’s all clear… or something to that effect. Yeah, you guessed it… We almost got creamed by a large truck, and the “helpful” 20-ish guy was convulsed with laughter.

I mentioned this to my supervisor when I got back to the office, and she informed me that some of the mental hospital’s patients were given the freedom to roam the grounds. Apparently, the homicidally helpful guy was one of those patients. Live and learn…

I know of 2 people who had accidents by being waived to turn left . Fortunatly no one was injured but my friends really nice vehicle was totaled.