Winter driving in Mass question

I’m new to Somerville, MA, but not completely new to snow driving as I lived for years in the NC mountains. But there, in NC, I always drove a 4WD vehicle. Here, now, I have a 2007 Focus. And I have a one hour commute to Freetown for work. Will my Focus be adequate for this? Advice on tires, etc? Thanks much!

Four Blizzaks and you’ll be fine.

Twotone

Yep, get 4 winter tires (on a separate set of steel rims is more convenient) will work fine - you’ll notice many fwd cars around Boston. The latest Consumer Reports has a winter tire review. The General Altimax Arctic came in 2nd, was much cheaper than the top-rated Michelin X-Ice XI 2. Buy a copy. But the most important thing is to get winter tires, regardless of brand.

If you install four winter tires on the car, your Focus will serve you well as a winter driver.

The brand of tire you choose is up to you, but you really should have winter tires. They make a big difference.

Get four Michelin X-Ice tires, and you will be better than fine!

Though AWD definitely gives you the ultimate in security and safety for commuting in snow when handled and prepared properly, the financial overkill must be weighed against commuting on paved and well maintained roads where steep inclines and unpaved roads is not an issue. You will manage fine with snow tires and even high rated all seasons. Be sure and change them when tread wear requires it for winter driving which is MORE important. Having snow tires worn to safe limits is false security. You may be better off with newer all seasons.