AWD questions

Hi ~ I’ve been driving a van for 17 years! Ford then Toyota. One RWD,one FWD. Never had snow tires on either, just all season radials. For the most part I got to where I needed to be tho FWD handled snow much better.

I live in Maine and I’m ready to downsize. I keep my vehicles until they are well beyond 100,000 miles so reliability is a key.

I think I’d like to try an AWD. However, I’ve also heard AWD costs more maintenance wise. If so, in what way? Do you need snow tires with AWD? Does AWD handle (like if going into a slide, skid, etc.) differently than FWD? I know 4WD is something very different.

So with that said, if I decide to go with an AWD, any recommendations for a “soccer mom” ready to retire the van, wants a decent cargo space, prefers a hatch back to a trunk, and higher seat position than a car where your legs are more straight out. I have one teen left at home who will be learning to drive in about 3 years. Safety a huge factor in what I get. Don’t want huge, something smaller with decent gas mileage. Thank you in advance for any and all who offer up their opinions! Giving up a van after 17 years will be weird, but also kinda fun for a change I think! :wink:

Real winter tires are more important the the number of drive wheels. RWD/FWD with four winter tires is better than 4WD/AWD with “all” (read three) season tires. I’ve lived here in Colorado for 34 years and have driven 4WD/AWD/RWD/FWD vehicles in all sorts of winter conditions. The only advantage of 4WD/AWD is going up steep un-plowed snowy/icy slopes. AWD will accelerate quicker, however, it does nothing for stopping and very little for steering. Remember – FOUR winter tires.