Will these actually "give out" & Is this a dangerous situation?

Helllllllllllppppppppppppp !!! (Snicker.Snicker) Okay…I’ve been listening to this show for years.It’s been awhile though and I’m not really a mechanic.Momma has a 2003 Saturn Ion that is REALLY makin’ some noise while being driven.After about 30 mph it starts to sound like a jet engine.You can’t really even talk to each other while driving.Now,I’ve researched this and what I’ve come up with is wheel bearings.I told momma about this and she’s REALLY getting worried about it.She thinks that the car is going to fall aprt at 70 mph.I tried to explain to her that it’s not really a dangerous situation but,as I am not a mechanic…she refuses to listen to me.My understanding is that these bearings are “sealed units”. So,my first question is will these things actually “give out” sooner or later (This has been going on fro at least 3 years now) > And,my 2nd question is (in all reality) is this a “dangerous” situation (to be driving with these things in this condition ? Helllllllllllllllllppppppppppppppppppppppp ! (Snicker,snicker) Oh ! By the ay…THANK YOU !!!

Well, it could be a dangerous situation, if they’re that loud. They could fail and cause loss of control.

Any time a car “sounds like a jet engine” it’s time to have it fixed and not drive it any further. If a wheel bearing seizes up on an expressway the failure could easily result in a very serious or FATAL accident.

I’m assuming your mother has normal intelligence and common sense. Have her take it to a mechanic and checked out.

Thanks for contacting us.

Yes they will give out eventually, and after 3 years my bet is on sooner rather than later. And yes at 70MPH could be really dangerous to you and others. Please take momma off the road and to a shop.