Wife is considering a hybrid

About time to replace the 2011 Accord.
Looking at a CRV, wife is leaning towards the new hybrid model. I think we do too much hiway driving to see big gains from a hybrid.
Main concern I have is that she tends to keep a car for a while, would the hybrid have higher costs towards the end of ownership?
The Accord for instance isn’t worth much per book value but it’s been well maintained and will go for a long time. If it were a hybrid I’d be afraid the battery might need replaced thus being more than the car is worth.
Any first hand experience to share?

I have no experience with the CRV Hybrid . But I took an online quiz one time and it showed that for us a hybrid would not be an advantage over a straight gas model . The Honda web site shows very little difference between the gas and hybrid for highway MPG. Also the starting prices for the gas version is lower . I do suggest that she test drive both versions and let her decide which one she wants . Life is too short to worry about things that far in the future that might not even be a big problem.

1 Like

Not worry? Might as well tell me not to breathe!
I had to get a root canal once, dentist set it up for the next day. Told my wife it was too soon, I’d need at least a solid week to worry about it.
Good point tho, we will both be retired (I hope) by the time the next car wears out

1 Like