Wierd "Shake/Shift" 2005 Camry

2005 Camry. I had 3 new tires put on the, 2 to replace worn tires and one to replace a defective (sidewall bulge) tire.

Now the Car feels like driving on a flat. It will kind of fish tail, or slide back and forth. It starts about 55 MPH and gets progressively worse (but just barely worse). If you let go of the steering wheel it seems to “self correct”. Meaning when it shifts to one side it will “shift” back, but it’s not overly jerking, more just “shifting” to one side or another. And I can’t tell if it’s in the front of rear. Steering is still tight.

Weirdly, it doesn’t always happen, but most of the time (75%-80%).

Thoughts, input, where to start?

Oh, and the tire pressure is good.

Replace that 4th tire.

I’d guess the 3 tires are a different size from the other 1.

4 Likes

Different size because of wear? Because they are all the same make and model that I have been using on that car for 8 years…Micheline Defenders.

Different size because of actually a different size tire. Look on the sidewall and make sure the numbers match. Specifically the numbers in the format “205/65/R15”

I’d also ask how different in age are the 3 new tires versus the old 1.

Worned suspension components can cause that also.

With so many places advertising 3 tires for the price of four why would you only replace 3 ? I wonder why the tire shop did not have you sign a form that you declined a purchase of four tires .

1 Like

First, make sure your lug nuts are all tight.

Did you get an alignment with the new tires? If not, start there, but also tell them that you’re having this issue and that you want all suspension components to be inspected thoroughly.

As already asked, how old is the tire that you didn’t replace and how much tread is on it?

1 Like

I purchased 3 tire because two were worn and the other was a warranty replacement.

No, they are all the same size, make and model.