Why can't they jump a Prius battery?

I have a Prius, and have had my battery jumped a few times. In my experiences, the guys with the big truck have big cables with big clamps, and therefore have trouble getting a good connection with the small post. The portable jump pack seems to have smaller clamps, so they don’t have the same problem.

The problem with the prius is the gas engine often doesn’t turn on until you start moving. Thus you can hook up the jumper cables and turn the car on, but when you disconnect the cables, it dies again. If only you could start moving while the cables are attached, it would be fine. But that is difficult with the tow truck blocking you in your garage!

I had this EXACT problem, and being an electrical engineer, I was able to find the very simple cause, and fix it easily. Yes, big jumper cable clamps make it difficult, it does not make it impossible. One of the culprits is the fact that the positive terminal connector in the front hood only has ONE metal side and one plastic side. Since jumper cables are made to clamp onto the metal frame of the car or battery terminal, even though both sides of the clamps have copper teeth, often (but not always) ONLY one side is connected to the jumper cable wire. So at random, you only have a 50% chance of the jumper cable clamp making an actual electrical connection on this one sided terminal. It is possible the mobile jump start unit had both sides of the jumper clamps connected or you got that 50% lucky.

Good thing you have that degree. Money well spent.

" . . . even though both sides of the clamps have copper teeth, often (but not always) ONLY one side is connected to the jumper cable wire. "
Right, sure, but the other side that isn’t connected conducts electricity from the side that is.
CSA

I don’t see why there’s not an option to use some of the juice in the hybrid pack to revive the secondary battery.
Al that’s needed is a DC-DC converter.