White Solara 2000 Body Work -- Valid Explanation or Not?

Someone did a hit-and-run on my pearl white Solara. The repair included replacing the body molding in the rear.

Although the new paint on the body matches the rest of the car perfectly, the molding does not. The new molding is clearly a brighter white than that on the front door.

It’s a 2000 Solara so I know that the older molding has some yellowing.

They looked closely, agreed that the molding colors did not match … and then sort of blew it off (in a circumnavigational, polite way) saying that eventually the colors would even out.

The estimate sheet does show that they never intended to do anything more than take off and replace the non-damaged molding as one of the steps in the process.

I have no experience with body repairs, so I assumed that all colors on all parts would be made to match.

Should they have tried to match the older molding or replaced it to match the new molding? Or … ?

It was a $1,500 repair job, and the first thousand was out of my pocket. So if matching the colors on the molding is commonly expected and done, then I do want to ask them to make it right. And if not, then ok!

I think it depends on if it is a painted part or not. If the molding is not a painted part but with a factory finish, there’s not much to do about it.

If they painted it, there’s no excuse. That should be a perfect match. Paint doesn’t even out over time. They messed up, I think.

@bing is right, sometimes those parts come pre-painted from the factory… If that was the case there is not much the body shop can do. If they did paint it though, painting plastic is different then painting metal. It can be very hard to match up, but if that is the case they should re-do it.