When to change the engine oil?

Hi,
You might have answered this question a million times but since I am new to CarTalk, I would like to ask this question:
I have 2010 Honda Accord and it has Oil change indicator. The Honda dealer says to bring car in for oil change once the indicator falls below 15%, however our friends from Jiffy Lube says to change the oil every 3 months.

As I moved closer to my work place, I haven’t been putting a lot of miles on my car(2 mi one way 5 days a week). Please clarify should I go with the Honda dealer or with friends from Jiffy Lube?

Thank you,
Suresh.

I am not a fan of Jiffy Lube. I strongly recommend that you find a reputable independently owned and operated shop and begin using them instead. Or, you could learn to change your own oil, and we can help you with that.

JL’s business model is to use inexperienced young kids, give them very basic training, then pay them modestly and have them do as many oil changes per hour as possible. The kids are mostly honest, decent kids working an honest job trying to make a buck, but they often lack the knowledge and experience to recognize the differences in the different drain plugs, signs of impending problems, the importance of not over tightening the drainplugs and/or the filters, importance of proper viscosity and other fluids, and use of proper tools. We get countless horror stories about JL and other “quickie lubes”. The people are good, but the business model isn’t.

With mileage that low, your oil should be changed on a “severe service” (severe use) schedule. If your owner’s manual doesn’t provide one, a good rule of thumb would be every 5,000 miles or every six months, whichever comes first. In your case it sounds like every six months will come first.