When is it time to throw in the towel?

There comes a time when the thought runs through your mind, “Am i just dumping money into an endless pit.”. Right now it seems like I am spending a couple hundred dollars every month or so to keep my current suv (2001 honda passport) running. I am not a mechanic but i can do basic stuff i have replaced a lot items, alternator, starter, clutch fan and such. This weeks issue is the neutral start switch and intake manifold gaskets. These issues are above my pay grade so i have to take it to a certified garage, more money. A couple of hundred dollars is easier to come up with to fix issues then coming up with thousands to buy something different. But when is enough, enough. money is tight and i don’t have the best credit so buying a car is going to take a lot of saving, sacrificing, and determination. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated thanks in advance.

@hounch101
That Does Seem Like A List Of Repairs That Are Not What I Consider Ordinary.

How Many Miles On This Car?
How Much Rust Is Lurking Underneath?
CSA

It’s a 15 year old truck . . . probably has a fair number of miles

And let’s remember it’s a rebadged Isuzu, AFAIK

I’m not entirely sure, but I’ll assume that Isuzu reliability is a little worse than Honda . . .

Those items OP replaced don’t seem to point at a bad vehicle. Stuff wears out

A neutral safety switch is not a big deal, for example

Intake gaskets on a 15 year old truck are obviously going to cost some money, but it’s not the end of the world.

If the truck is in great shape otherwise, not rusty, and has been very well maintained, it might be worth hanging onto for awhile

The devil you know . . . :wink:

190000 miles and plenty of rust a lot of rust.

@hounch101

that was very important information

How bad are the intake gaskets leaking?

Is engine oil or coolant leaking externally?

Is coolant getting into the crankcase . . . or vice versa?