When Is An Alignment Needed? Asking Mechanics and those with similar skills

Hi folks,
I’m looking for input for a story that will help vehicle owners know when they NEED to perform an alignment. Here is what I am really asking: If one owns a vehicle in which the wheel is centered, the car does not pull to a side when on a flat roadway, and the tires are not showing any signs of uneven or improper wear, and no suspension repairs have been made, is an alignment indicated? If so, how is it indicated? Why do it? If you can answer with those qualifications, I’d appreciate it. I’m aware that many tire shops suggest it when new tires are purchased, and that some owners’ manuals may suggest an alignment or alignment check periodically. If you provide a good answer, please tell us if you are a mechanic, or have similar skills and experience. Thanks very much!

I’m not a mechanic, but I read a lot on this forum.

First, it’s your car. You do whatever you want (or don’t want) to do. Just be prepared to deal with any resulting consequences later.

Having said that… the only time I’m aware of when an alignment is “required” is after getting new shocks/struts installed. I’d assume that an alignment would also be a good idea when doing any front end/suspension work in general.

That’s my two cents.

2 Likes

Tester

1 Like

I am not a pro. and just a story of when you might have a suspension part or a alignment starting to go bad. my friend came over one day with his sister’s car. he told me she got new tires a couple months before and she feels a very slight vibration. he said the car tracks fine. the tires were wearing evenly. first, I thought maybe a wheel weight might have come off. but I ran my hand over the tire. one way it was smooth, the other way it was a little ruff. it was the start of tire chop.

1 Like

Mustangman is the pro when it comes to suspension.