What's this other adjustment screw on my carburetor?

toyota
pickup

There’s another adjustment screw on my carburetor, a little bit to the left of the idle adjust screw, a little bit beneath it, pointed more upward, not-seeable when the air cleaner is mounted. It’s the 22 R engine.

The Chilton’s diagrams of the 8, 18, and 20 engines have ‘fast idle adjusting’, ‘mixture adjusting’, ‘throttle position adjusting’ screws, not the 22R’s diagram.

Can you post a photo? I’ve had a lot of experience with 22Rs, but cannot envision your description.

Can I install a tachometer?

I don’t have a camera, but after putting a stronger light on it I see that the throttle rests against it when its all the way out: it sets minimum throttle. That could have caused my problem, had it been screwed in all the way.

@RandomTroll NO NEED TO START A NEW THREAD IMHOP see

Can’t speak to the 22R carb, but fyi my Ford truck carb has adjustments for

• idle air/fuel mixture (2)
  • idle rpm selonoid-off (I think this is the same as the screw you describe above, to prevent dieseling problems and prevent the butterfly valve from damaging the throttle seat area)
  • idle rpm selonoid-on ( idle rpm in normal operation, engine warm, either this one or the one above is also called “curb idle rpm”, never can remember which is which)
  • fast idle rpm (idle rpm when engine is cold and choke is enabled)
  • relationship between choke plate angle and fast idle cam.
  • relationship between choke plate angle and choke spring-thermostat temperature

And what, physically, does this do? The throttle rests against mine when there’s no foot on the gas pedal: it sets a minimum.

Yeah I was thinking a fast idle cold adjustment screw. Best you can do with one of those is screw it all the way out. They were a hazard in the winter on ice.
Brakes on but accelerator still spinning the rear wheels.