What to do about my poor old Honda

Vehicle is 87 Accord, Carbureted, 180k.

This car called it quits on me today while driving approx 75 mph on the interstate. It was more of a gradual, rather than a sudden, loss of power.

While cruising along I noticed that the car was stumbling when trying to apply throttle, then it got worse, and as the car slowed down I had no choice to pull over, because I could not sustain a safe freeway speed even when using lower gears.

The car abruptly stalled when I put it into neutral. I was able to restart it, but it ran very rough at 100-200 rpm. After a minute or two of this, and applying throttle, the car ran smoothly again and I was able to slowly, take of and merge back onto the freeway.

I had to repeat this process two more times and somehow by the grace of god I made it home (i was only 70 miles away).

I am a college student and depend on this vehicle to commute 100 miles one way every so often when traveling from campus to home and back. But now I am scared to drive this car back, I don’t want to be faced with the same incident.

So my question is: Is it even worth diagnosing and fixing a problem like this on a 21 year old car? Any ideas?

Lately we’ve been having icy precipitation in this area (KY) and in the meantime the car sat in the parking lot with a damned near empty tank of fuel, and I could only fill it up about half way today so I suspected maybe some ice in the system but it seems illogical that it would remain after the car reached its running temp.

What should I do?? I have to be back at school on monday. I am able to replace this vehicle with something in the $5k range, but I don’t want to unless I absolutely have to. Help!

I don’t think this is too serious-- try and fix it so you can take your time shopping for a replacement. First thing to do would be to check that there’s fuel getting to the carburetor-- if not then check the fuel filter and fuel pump.