What Car to Buy?

Dear Mr. Click, and Mr. Clack,

Without going into all the sordid details of what happened to my last car, suffice it to say that I am in need of a new one.

I am a beekeeper hobbyist, and I will sometimes need to move a hive or two, so I need a car that will fit at least one hive in the trunk. My beehives are at least 4 feet long. A hatchback will not work because it is not safe to have bees in the same area that you’re driving. Ideally I would love to find a diesel car that I could burn biodiesel in. Unfortunately, many of the small efficient cars in both gasoline and diesel do not have a trunk big enough to carry a beehive. This seems to leave me with only the option of buying a truck. Buying a truck seems a little bit like overkill to me. I don’t really feel like I need that big of a car most of the time. I also need to occasionally haul a load of compost or straw bales for work. What should I do? Should I buy a truck? Or is there a Honda that could accommodate one of my beehives?

Julia, Mr. Click & Mr. Clack Seldom Visit This Forum, But Rather You Get A Bunch Of Car Enthusiasts.

I’d put a hitch on my car and either buy a small covered lightweight trailer (Remember you said “sometimes”) or rent a U-Haul. Personally I’d want the bees in their own vehicle.

Why make a mess of your car with compost and hay bales ?

CSA

I agree. The best alternative is to buy a small enclosed trailer. Most are vented. They are also one of the handiest items to have around.

How about a small pickup truck, equipped with a “cap” over the bed?

Dear Common Sense,
Wow. I didn’t even think of that!!! Where would I buy a lightweight trailer? Can you suggest a brand name? Would it be a really bumpy ride for the bees? You truly deserve the name common sense!

A trailer is a good idea but it will bounce more. Not being a bee expert I have no idea how tolerant bees are of bouncing.

I will second VDCdriver about a small pickup (Ranger, S-10, etc.) with a cap over the bed.