What car to buy for a specific purpose?

Hi everyone, I am a college student and as you know college students are generally broke. Im looking to theses forums to give me a hand on what car i should get for the purpose i want it for.

Im sure all of you have seen some of the nasty mustangs and what not on YouTube that growl like nothing you’ve ever seen before and thats kinda what im looking for. But of course that isn’t something i can afford. So in general i would like to know recommendations as to what car i should get that relatively inexpensive that i will be able to put some money into and over time get it to have a pretty mean growl and overall end up being pretty loud.

With that after the recommend car, what exactly should i do to it, Cams, headers? or what to make it have a nice mean growl and have some speed to it. Again im not looking to break the bank here its just a nice little project i want to have throughout college and then move on to better things after i get my career.

Thanks for the ideas and i look forward to chatting with you all.

Forgot to include that i would want it to be a manual!

Well, you can get a decent muscle car cheap, but yes, it’ll be a “project,” because good muscle cars aren’t cheap, and cheap muscle cars aren’t good.

Frankly, I’d get a RWD, full-full size GM in decent condition, with a V8. I’m not personally in love with GMs, but the small-block V8 is the cheapest and easiest way to modify an engine for nice sound, and decent power. Definitely “charted territory,” which is what you want for a first-time project! If you’re just looking for that B.A. V8 rumble…and not anything that corners, you’ll be able to save money (and possibly opt for a rodded pickup, if that appeals to you.) I think a “Shamu”-era Caprice might be a decent vehicle you could pick up and fix cheaply, and it would allow for a fair amount of hooning around. It’ll never be a “performance vehicle,” though.