Best New Car

Hey guys,
I am a current college sophomore and I have started looking into buying my first car. I would really like either a BMW or some sort of hatchback. It doesn’t need to be too reliable so long as parts are easy to find and somewhat inexpensive, as I’d like to be able to work on the car myself. I don’t need a car, so it doesn’t even need to be practical, I just want something fun to drive and interesting to tinker with. Any tips, both about looking for a car and what car to look for, would be greatly appreciated.

Inexpensive parts puts you out of most Euro brands.
Since this will be your first car, call various insurance companies and see how much each car you’re considering will cost you; you save a little bit by doing 6 months at a time, atleast with my insurance company.

I agree with skipping the BMW. Hopefully this fascination with having a car to tinker with won’t meddle much with your finances and academic workload.

You did not state your car budget or desires other than a BMW but a suggestion might be a Fox body Mustang (80s-90s) with the 2.3 Liter 4 cylinder if you can find one that hasn’t been thrashed into the pavement.
They’re cheap, easy to tinker with, cheap to insure, and parts are everywhere. The GTs will hit you on insurance rates so you might avoid those.

The others are correct. A BMW is unlikely to end up being “somewhat inexpensive”.

A domestic make will probably end up being the cheapest and easiest to maintain. A Japanese car would be pretty good too, with Mazda being worth a look if you want something fun to drive.

To expand on my previous post:

Anything fun to drive will probably be more expensive to insure than a boring sedan. Anything unreliable won’t be fun to drive, since you’ll never know when the next problem will occur.

While I’m not trying to discourage you from this endeavor, taking the money you’d use to buy and tinker with a car would be best used to pay down your student loans.