Weird Baffling Crabbing Problem - I need HELP

I have a 1980 Nissan Patrol (4X4) that I have been restoring for the past 6 years. I thought I was done when I completed the paint job las month. Two days ago when I left for the airport it seemed to me that the car was crabbing down the road - going straight but pointed to the left (notably!) The car does not pull nor does it dive when I hit the brakes. I can’t find anything odd looking in the suspension although the steering wheel is suddenly out of true. I have never had this sort of problem with any car before and don’t even know where to start. I am thinking to take it to an alignment shop.

Has anyone run into this sort of thing before?

Any help would be appreciated.

I am located in Cali, Colombia

Have you had the frame checked for accident damage?

Have you checked the rear axle to be sure that it and its suspension mounts are exactly as they should be?

Those would be my prime suspects for a crabbing problem.

Somewhere over the years, through some action, your rear axle has become misaligned relative to your frame. You can verify this by measuring the centers of the end of each axle to diagonal corresponding points on the frame, the hypotenuse of the triangles. I’ll bet they’re different.

This is not as unusual as one would think. Especially in a 29 year old vehicle that’s been subjected to who-knows-what.

Take it to a chassis shop and tell them the problem. They should be able to get everything lined up properly again.

If there is such a thing as a chassis shop in Cali, Columbia, they should be able to put things right with the rear axle. But, is there such a thing as a chassis shop in that part of the world? Articteach–is there such a thing in your environs?

Excellent point.