VW Jetta part unavailable; no ETA or aftermarket; stranded student

I am a college student in Seattle, WA, and my 2019 VW Jetta was in a hit and run. The impact bar was damaged, and according to University VW in Seattle, the part has been on back order since the middle of last year, and there is no ETA, and there are 1000 people waiting for it. My insurance adjuster checked for aftermarket and used parts, and this part is not available anywhere. The car cannot be driven due to safety issues caused by the damaged impact bar. My insurance provides one month of auto rental which is about to run out. I need a car to go to classes and internships. I called VW corporate and the dealership where we purchased the car to request help with a rental car, and they refused. Basically it seems VW has no stake in getting the part in a timely manner, leaving customers like myself stranded. This is a new car that my mother bought for me in 2019 and still has low mileage. I am living on student loans and cannot afford an indefinite rental or to buy another car. Do you have any advice on how to get VW to pay for a rental until the part arrives since there is no ETA? Thanks!

This is a legal problem, not a car problem.

I’d suggest speaking to a lawyer about the problem. There is usually no fee for the first consultation.

Many of us have had supply chain problems with our cars lately. Good Luck

3 Likes

What impact bar? Is this the channel under the bumper cover, door impact channel, or what. It most likely can be pulled out an straightened in a few hours at a body shop to make it drivable until parts are available. It doesn’t have to look new to be usable. The only other option is, if parts are not available cars are usually totaled out and the client paid out for the value.

2 Likes

Well maybe you can provide some more detail because it seems like there are a number of places that have an “impact bar” in stock and available to ship. Here’s one: