Volvo V70 sluggish...bad gas mileage

I recently purchased a Volvo v70 wagon…it seems to run very sluggish and does not accelerate very quickly, it seems like a heavy beast! I am a gentle driver and baby the car, but it seems like such work to drive, I really have to push the gas pedal and it accelerates very slowly. We checked the gas mileage and it’s getting 18 mpg, it is not a turbo and is front wheel drive…seems like it should be getting better than that! I have been putting midgrade fuel in… It pulls to the right a bit and I am feeling a little vibration in the engine…any suggestions on what I could ask to check?

What year, how many miles, did you buy it new?  Any CEL?

Well, you left out some very vital information such as:

*Did you purchase it as a new car, or as a used car?
*If it is a used car, how many miles are on the odometer, and what is the state of its maintenance–assuming that you received maintenance records with the vehicle.

However, lacking that input from you, I will give you some information about the V70, gleaned from the most recent auto issue of Consumer Reports. To quote CR:

“It delivers adequate performance, but its 18 mpg overall is just so-so.”

In case you are not familiar with CR’s terminology, “adequate” performance is their way of saying that a vehicle is not particularly powerful. Or, in other words, it has enough power to accelerate onto a highway–but just barely–with no reserve power left over to move it quickly in case of emergency. And, of course, their overall mileage figure matches yours.

It sounds like you are experiencing exactly what CR did when they tested the V70, so keep this in mind before shopping for your next vehicle: There are no substitutes for good reasearch and for an extended test drive when considering a vehicle for purchase.