Volvo 240 Won't Start in Wet Weather

Hi folks,

My 1988 Volvo 240 DL often has trouble starting in the rain (I’ve usually managed to get it going, but it often takes several attempts). I have been told by a friend that he had the same problem with his '86 and replaced the distributor cap, solving the issue. My mechanic told me that he would need to replace the cap and wires, costing about $275. He said that replacing the cap alone won’t solve the problem, and would just lead the cap to wear out faster. He told me this without looking at the car. Just want to know if he’s right–do I need to replace the cap and wires? Is it possible that changing the cap alone will solve the problem? Could I change the cap and see if there’s still a problem, or is it better to just do it all at once? I’m a poor grad student, so any money I can save is valuable…

If you are a poor grad student, an old Volvo isn’t going to help your budget. Do you have any idea when the cap, rotor, plug wires, and plugs were last replaced on this car? These old Volvo’s need caps and wires replaced much more frequently than most owner’s realize. For a dependable starting car you have to do all of them about every 30K miles.

The good news is the parts are available at any good auto parts store and you should be able to do it yourself. The trickiest part of changing the cap and plug wires yourself is making sure you don’t mix up the wires. Have a good system so you know where every individual plug wire goes on the cap. Taking a picture before you start might help too.