Vibration ! shudder ! popping!

OK, i’m gonna be as specific as can be (considering I’m not a mechanic…)

I got in my car, started it up with no problems, no warning lights, put it in gear and drove 5 miles at 50-55mph. It was purring like a kitten, shifted smooth (5 speed manual, 1996 Cavalier Z-24, 2.4 liter, dual exhaust, 72,000 miles). I came to a stop sign, facing upward about 10 degrees. (PS: I’m an expert at smooth clutching, even on inclines; I’ve driven mostly manuals for 40 plus years) Then I put it into first and, all of a sudden, OUTTANOWHERE !!! BOOMCHICKABOOMCHICKA, ETCETCETC…it was shaking like a banshee !!! I limped in the 3 lowest gears about 1000 feet to a stop. I looked at the temperature gauge. Normal. No warning lights. Then I shut it off. 6 hours later, before I cranked it, I checked the oil level. OK. No oil in the cooling fluid. OK. Then I cranked it in neutral, and drove it 150 feet into a Sears repair facility. (I work in the main building.) I left it running 5 minutes while I got a mechanic. He popped the hood and the whole engine was REALLY shaking in neutral. He suggested a vacuum leak, loose electrical connection, or bad plug. (but why would these things happen SO FAST with no warning…from smooth running to bonkers in a flash?)