Vehicular Selection

This question fits in the following categories: automotive, ecology, economic, equinology, fun, marriage, midlife crisis, practicality, safety, self-fulfillment, theology (stewardship), and testosterone, not necessarily in that order.

I am a 48 year old Pastor, Jouster, Chaplain, farmer and husband.

My only vehicle is a 1998 Dodge 1500 short bed PU with nearly 250k miles on it. I live on a hilly 50 acre farm with gravel roads, and lots of fence and chores. It is starting to REALLY show it’s age (more that Ray). I have to have a truck! I need to decide whether to retire this one to the farm until it at last gives up the ghost (with occasional forays into the public eye) and get a more economical drive around vehicle. Do ditch this oldtimer and get a newer truck that does more of what I need? Did I mention hauling horses or the sidecar motorcycle rig that gets 50 mpg?

Help guys! We need your sage advice!

What’s wrong with it, now? Burning oil? Slipping trans? Define “showing its age”. I show my age, but I hope my wife isn’t ready to put me out to pasture yet!

Add up all the costs to bring it up to your standard, and then decide if you want to take on a newer truck and the capital outlay required.

“Did I mention hauling horses or the sidecar motorcycle rig that gets 50 mpg?”

No, you didn’t, at least not in context. You probably won’t get much for the old truck, so keep it on the farm. You should see (and hear) the old Chevy Greenbriar pickup a farmer near me drives. If you plan on hauling a horse trailer, that will make a difference. Is the Dodge 4WD? It sounds like you should have a 4WD pickup, though a standard cab might do fine.