Vauxhall Meriva turbo - 2011 - Car stuttering - loss of power

Hello everyone,

So I’m writing this on behalf of my father whose having a lot of issues with his 2011 Vauxhall Meriva. I’m no car expert so I apologize in advance for that but we could really do with some help in figuring out what might be wrong here. We’ve already taken it to a trusted garage and they can’t figure the issue out. Basically for the past few months now, the car stutters and loses power when driving, the dashboard cuts out and the power steering also stops functioning with the car sort of spluttering for a few seconds until everything starts up again and it seems okay. Eventually, the issue reoccurs until we have to pull over and restart the car which does seem to fix the issue for a short amount of time. It’s actually quite scary as you can imagine and with the handbrake also being electronic, we’ve even had the car fall back randomly.

We’ve had a number of codes displayed on the dashboard but they don’t really make any sense to us, they are as follows:

|Code 60|Open and then close the front passenger window.
|Code 61|Open and then close the rear left window.
|Code 62|Open and then close the rear right window.

The garage that we use even connected a high-end diagnosis machine but there were no error codes whatsoever popping up which left them puzzled. They did claim that it might be fuel related and recommended to try using some higher quality fuel (no the supermarket stuff that’s often cheaper) and some Redex which we’ve done. We’ve also had the spark plugs changed for new ones and the coil. We took a look at the battery and checked the connectors too. I’ve looked extensively online for similar issues but had no luck finding a solution. I was wondering if anyone else had a similar experience.