Used cars: BMW versus Lexus?

Hello,

I am a Honda driver and have been for years. I have always wanted a “nicer” car because I spend alot of time commuting and my car is my own little space. I have recently come into some cash (though not alot of it) and was thinking about upgrading to a 2009 BMW 328XI AWD or Lexus IS250 AWD. I really loved driving the BMW, but I am worried about its reliability in the 3-10 year age range - the exact time I expect to own the car.

Any opinions? Is a BMW a money pit? Is the Lexus less of a worry?

Its a good problem to have, but hard to get reliability ratings on the 2009 model year.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Judd

Sounds like you already know the answer–Lexus (as a brand) is a more reliable car that is in the long run cheaper to own and maintain.

Where do you live that you think you need AWD?

Make sure you take a long test drive in the Lexus, the IS is pretty tight inside, tends to ride a bit rough, and the 250 is not overy-powerful.

If you get the BMW you will spend a bunch more money on repairs and maintenance than you have gotten used to spending on the Honda. Lexus is a premium Toyota brand and would be similar to your Honda experience.

I wouldn’t call the BMW a money pit, but it’s likely to cost quite a bit more to maintain. As for the Lexus, I believe I’ve read that the IS, at least for some years, has a very harsh ride, so make sure you try it on all the types of roads you might drive on.

If you like your Honda, maybe an Acura TL should be in the running as well.

Why not buy an Acura ? It’s a fancy Honda .

Well, here’s the question - do you want a nicer car or do you want a status symbol? The real rub is that you can get some VERY nice mainline models now that are just as nice as luxury cars of not-so-long-ago. I’d argue that a top-of-the-line trim in a Toyota, Honda, Ford, Mazda, etc, would give you nearly as nice of an experience as a full-out luxury car at a much lower price.