Urban legends?

My boss is a bright, thirty-something scientist and owner of a water testing lab who believes the following:

1. 12 volt batteries will discharge if stored on a concrete floor and,

2. Vehicles should not be driven in reverse as opposed to moving forward when first starting out so parks them with the rear end toward the building.

We were told this battery thing in auto shop and there is a technical reason to believe it and a better technical reason to not believe the first technical reason,I will try and find it. I am studying for my Microsoft 70-270 certification exam and will take any excuse to stop.

The only thing I can think of for the reverse idea is to no run somebody over.

I’ll agree with number 1. You shouldn’t store a battery on a concrete floor for any length of time. It will hasten the discharge of the battery. This doesn’t mean it happens overnight, just that the battery will discharge more quickly than it would stored up off the floor.

Number 2 is BOGUS. It doesn’t matter which direction you drive a vehicle after starting it. There is no difference between driving it forward and driving it in reverse.

What does your boss think will be damaged by backing up?

After reading the information on the following web page I’m going to change my mind on number 1:

http://www.thebatteryterminal.com/TechTalk_Batteries_on_Concrete.htm